Currency Turkey

The official currency of the Republic of Turkey is the Turkish Lira. The Turkish lira is divided into sub-units called kuruş. The paper currency consists of 5, 10, 20, 50, 100 and 200 TL banknotes and the metal currency consists of 5, 10, 25 and 50 Kuruş and 1 Lira coins.
Images of the founding father of the Turkish Republic, Mustafa Kemal Ataturk, are on the front of banknotes, while the back depicts prominent names and places of Turkish culture.
Foreign currencies can be converted into Turkish Lira at exchange offices and banks according to the daily exchange rate set by the Central Bank of Turkey.
Aside from the Turkish lira, strong currencies such as US dollars and euros are widely accepted by major shopping malls, hotels and restaurants.
However, it is advisable that you have Turkish Lira with you at all times.

Related Stories


Termessos Turkey

Termessos was built on a natural platform on Mount Güllük (Solymos) and is one...

Hierapolis Turkey

Located near the natural wonder of Pamukkale, the ancient city of Hierapolis was founded...

Xanthos Turkey

The ancient city of Xanthos is near Fethiye and was once the capital of...

Telmessos Turkey

Telmessos is located near Fethiye and takes its name from the son of the...

Patara Turkey

The ancient city of Patara lies between Fethiye and Kalkan and is known as...

Sardes Turkey

Sardis, the capital of the Kingdom of Lydia, is located in the city of...

Popular Categories



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here